The Aga Khan Award for Architecture 2022

About Aga Khan Award for Architecture

The Aga Khan Award for Architecture (AKAA) was created in 1977. The purpose of the award is to identify and reward the concepts that in architecture, with a focus on contemporary design, social housing, development and improvement, restoration, reuse and protection of the area, as well as landscape design and environmental improvement, can address the needs of Muslim societies.

The Aga Khan Prize is given every three years, and in each cycle, a new committee is formed to determine the criteria for qualified projects, referring to current concerns and developing programs for the long-term future. The committee is also responsible for seminars and field visits, awards, publications and exhibitions.


The Aga Khan Award for Architecture 2022

This year, among 463 submitted works from 16 countries, “Argo Factory” along with two other Iranian projects was included in the list of 20 final candidates for the Aga Khan Award for Architecture.

Argo Contemporary Art Museum and Cultural Centre, redesigned by Ahmadreza Schricker (ASA North) made it to the final six winners of the award.



Ahmadreza Schricker Architecture North (ASA North), Tehran, Iran – New York, USA:
Ahmadreza Schricker: founder and principal
Mehdi Holakoui: job captain
Mona Janghorban: project Manager
Amin Mahdavi: special advisor

Collaborating Architect
Hobgood Architects, Releigh, USA:
Patrick Hobgood: architect

Structural Engineer
Behrang Bani-Adam

Vandad Ghooparanloo: general contractor

Brutal Beton Co., Tehran, Iran: concrete manufacturer and sponsor
Amir Sahra-Navard: concrete repair and waterproofing

Alireza Mir-Taheri

Aydin Afshar: electrical operator

Barad Painting, Tehran, Iran
Sina Asgari: owner

Lighting Consultant
The SEED, New York, USA
Golsana Heshmati: owner


< Click here to see the Aga Khan Award for Architecture 2022 winners >